Life right now

Ah, fall.

I hoped to spend it reading philosophy, sipping hot chocolate, and musing over the meaning of life (or how to spin the Pope’s latest words into something Catholic).

However, like any other homeschooling grade 12 student, I had a lot of other things with which I filled my schedule.

A little rest and relaxation is important though, so I did pick up A Midsummer Night’s Dream in my spare time. Yes, I read Shakespeare for fun. My voice teacher also lent me a short book called William Shakespeare’s Star Wars:  Verily, a New Hope by Ian Doescher.  It basically tells the story of Star Wars IV (or I, of original trilogy) in the style of Shakespeare. Quite amusing it is.

I wish I could say I’ve picked up a load of piano pieces for fun, but right now I need to focus on learning exam pieces for June. My latest piece is J.S. Bach’s Prelude & Fugue in B flat major. I thought the Prelude would be difficult, but it’s all wrist rotation in the right hand. Bazinga. Still getting started on the Fugue. Only 3 voices in it; lucky break.

Until next time, God bless!

