The Mother’s Day homily

A couple weeks ago my family and I went to Mass on Sunday morning as we normally do. However, even before we got to the church I had a feeling that the homily would have nothing or little to do with that Sunday’s readings. And sure enough, that is just what happened.The priest, who is retired and was just filling in that Sunday, managed to spend the whole seven minutes or so talking about mothers. He basically gave us a shallow sort of reflection on what mothers do (“She laughs with us, she cries with us, she is always there when we need her,” and so on). That was it! Did it slip his mind that it was Good Shepherd Sunday as well? There are a wealth of topics that develop from that one simple part of the Gospel. There is the matter of Christ as guiding Shepherd and Head of the Church; the matter of heretics or schismatics being outside the fold and the importance of being in the fold; the matter of one fold, one Shepherd, one Church; and I’m sure there are more topics out there that I am unaware of.

I don’t want to sound like some disparaging, mom-hating nutbar; that is certainly not my aim with this post, but the few points that I listed above are important issues in the Church today. Catholics don’t always understand that the Catholic Church is the one, true Church, so priests need to give the flock, “the milk of grace, of doctrine, and of guidance.” Catholics cannot survive on Wonderbread homilies alone. Our souls need real food to grow properly. Yes, moms rock and I appreciate my own mother very much, but can we keep the focus on God instead of ourselves? I mean:
ad-orientem-cartoon
Oh, and the Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion helped the priest hand out carnations to all the mothers before the end of Mass. Anyhoo…on that happy note, enjoy your day and God bless you!

6 thoughts on “The Mother’s Day homily

  1. Yes, the topic of pedophilia, abuse and supporting an organized crime syndicate. I left the church for good after the sexual abuse scandal. I’m a heretic and a schismatic because I loathe the sexual torture of children and the institutional cover up. I’m blogging about this topic, almost incessantly and the stories keep cropping up. I’m Mexican and what the priests did, with the HELP of the Vatican, to hungry children in my country is beyond unconscionable. I can’t even set foot in a Catholic church without feeling disgust, rage, and revulsion. What these consecrated animals did in my country makes Ireland look like a petting zoo. I would rather see a priest masturbate on the Eucharist or in the communion chalice than touch a single hair on the head of a child. YOU enable a filthy, violent, institution.

    • I am truly sorry to hear that you suffered so much. Priests should NEVER do that; that is not what the Catholic Church stands for. Again, I am sorry and I will pray for you.

  2. I’m curious about your comment about the Catholic church being the one true church. Where in the Bible does it say that the Catholic church is the one true church?

    • The Catholic Church is the original Christian church instituted by Jesus Christ and there are a couple of places in the Gospels where He says that there is only one fold and one shepherd.

      “I am the good shepherd, I know mine and mine know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I will lay down my life for the sheep. I have other sheep that do not belong to this fold. These also I must lead, and there will be one flock, one shepherd.” (John 10:14-16)

      “I pray not only for them, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, so that they may all be one, as you, Father, are in me and I in you, that they also may be in us, that the world may believe that you sent me. And I have given them the glory you gave me, so that they may be one, as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may be brought to perfection as one, that the world may know that you sent me, and that you loved them even as you loved me.” (John 17:20-23)

  3. “Catholics cannot survive on Wonderbread homilies alone”. Right, but Catholics can survive with very bad homilies… but not alone. We hear the scriptures first and then there is the Eucharist which is the real food for our Soul. Of course, a good homily is better.
    The Sunday homily doesn’t necessarily have to be about the day’s scriptures (even if it’s the norm), it can also be a “thematic” homily treating a great theme of the Christian faith but let’s not forget that “doctrine is not meant to be propounded in a homily in the way that it might unfold in a theology classroom or a lecture for an academic audience or even a catechism lesson.” (The Sunday Homily, USCCB).
    Finally some priests are very good preachers, others not that much, we should always be grateful to have them with their qualities and their limits.

Leave a Reply

