Why this blog exists

Today I learned that I have been posting on this little blog for one year. On this first anniversary, I find myself wondering one thing: why? Why did I create this blog? Why did I pick that strange brown background when everyone else is going with white (okay, maybe not everyone)? Why didn’t I quit? Why did I bother to continue, even when the pages were not getting as many views or likes as I had hoped?

In all honesty, I’m not sure exactly why I started a blog. I am not a strong writer, I’m not really all that funny, I’m not a well-versed apologist or evangelist, I can’t write long, intelligent posts about important topics, and I am not very diligent when it comes to posting regularly. Out of all this, however, I found a reason to keep blogging.

st_therese (2)

Yep, Saint Therese of Lisieux. Heres the reasoning behind it.
Saint Therese was a simple Carmelite nun. During her short life on earth, she didn’t do amazing things like heal the sick, write great books, or reform orders of monks. She didn’t travel across the world proclaiming the Gospel to the poor, or start schools and hospitals that would change the lives of thousands of people. She simply loved God in all that she did and through that simplicity she attained sanctity. She didn’t have to do great things; only small things with great love. This teaches us something very important. Often, as Catholics living in the time of the New Evangelization, we start believing that we have to do something big to spread the Gospel, like travel to foreign countries as a missionary or feed all the poor and homeless in our hometown. As Saint Therese shows us, this is not necessarily true. Yes, we need foreign missionaries and people who care for the homeless, but not everyone can do these things. As 1 Corinthians 12:28 states,

Some people God has designated in the church to be, first, apostles; second, prophets; third, teachers; then, mighty deeds; then gifts of healing, assistance, administration, and varieties of tongues.

Saint Paul points out that there are different positions in the church that need to be filled. Not everyone can have gifts of healing, or no one will teach. Not everyone can be a prophet, or no one will have the gift of administration. God calls different people to different ministries in life. Now for a little story.

Most of my homeschooling friends don’t plan to enter college or university right after high school. Instead, they want to do missionary work for a year or two. I’m the odd one in the bunch, though. Because I want to be a piano teacher when I grow up, I need to keep my piano skills sharp for getting into university, and this is nearly impossible to do as a missionary. I can trust, though, that because God is calling me to a different job, I will still be able to evangelize in some way. While I was wondering about this last fall, I thought about starting a blog. At first I had some doubts: what if I don’t like it after a while? What if I make a mistake in some line of philosophy and a really smart person comments on my failure? What if no one reads my blog? What if my posts are too long or too short? After a bit of of thought, I decided that if it would be something giving glory to God, then He would provide all that I needed. So after sorting out some kinks, I started blogging. It doesn’t get read much, it doesn’t look fancy, and it isn’t run by a computer smart person, but I trust that if God wants me to evangelize in some small way right now, then maybe this is it.

One more note: to everyone who has followed, liked, or commented on my blog during this past year, thank you! You have encouraged me to continue blogging even when I didn’t feel like it. Please keep it up, and God bless you all!

2 thoughts on “Why this blog exists

  1. Sometimes I wonder the same thing…why do I blog? But usually shortly after I am struck with an idea for a new post and I know that for whatever reason God wants me to keep on doing it. One day I looked at my blog stats and what countries have viewed my blog. I was amazed at how many parts of the world had clicked on my blog at some point and then it hit me…even if just one person is inspired by something I write or decides to pray because of something I write…then it is reason enough for me! I have also started reading so many other blogs because of writing one and the inspiration I get from others following Christ is so wonderful. God bless!

Leave a Reply

