Homeschooling, Catholicism, and Self-Control

Well, today concludes our second full week of homeschooling. Everything has been going pretty smoothly: the kids have been pretty good at helping out with keeping the living room tidy and giving me a hand with kitchen clean up, the meals have been on time (mostly), and laundry isn’t piling up yet. The schooling part has been going well, too. The 10 year old has memorized a Tim Horton’s commercial, the 8 year old has learned that two plus four is NOT seven, the six year old has learned that lots of the male saints are shown as being bald, and the three year old has learned to make the sign of the cross. Oh yes, and they have learned a few academic things, too. 🙂 I’ve learned a few things in the past two weeks as well; and that will be the main focus of this post.

Controlling yourself can be such a pain. Yes, that’s what I learned. In the schedule that I made for our homeschool year, I wrote down that I would be waking up at 5:45 to do my own schoolwork before all of the kids woke up. Things such as this always look so much easier on paper. I found it quite hard to wake up at that time, and I still do, but knowing that there is a good reason to get up helps motivate me. I have discovered that you can still see the stars quite clearly at 5:45, so I can see part of God’s beautiful creation before moving into the business of the day. Waking up at that time also helps me to work on self-control.

Self-control, painful as it is to build up, is a great virtue. It combats most of the seven deadly sins with great effectiveness. It is especially helpful in eradicating gluttony, sloth, and lust. Once these sins have been weeded out, it becomes easier to grow in holiness and love of God. That is why self-control is so important in the life of a Christian.

Well, that’s my post for this week. Now that my life isn’t quite so busy I will be posting more frequently on here. Until the next post, God bless!

Leave a Reply

