Happy New Year, My favorite websites, and how to clean up shattered ornaments

Hello world. Its been over a month since my last post, so if you are following my blog right now, I thank you for your patience. Really, I do. The past month has been quite busy and I haven’t had the time (or the energy) to tell the world about my crazy life, but hopefully in 2013, I will be a bit more frequent in my writing.

This year has been an interesting year for me. Here are a few of the things that I have learned in the past 366 days:

1. Toddlers are smarter than you think.

If you are the parent of a toddler, then you probably know what I mean. My 2 year old sister is trouble, but in public she is a cute little angel, of course. Plus, she is smart. During the Rosary, we often list our intentions just before praying the first decade, and my little sister has become quite diligent at naming the two neighbor kids that she wants to pray for. Faith comes in all sizes.

2. When walking with God, He will surprise you……..

This spring, my Dad decided to build a bed and breakfast in our field. I know, I thought it sounded like Noah and the Ark, too, but I think it was one of those decisions that most of us don’t understand, but the one who is making it knows it inside and out. It seems that God is this way, too. Often He will do things that we cannot comprehend, but eventually all is revealed in time.

3. How to clean up shattered ornaments.

A couple weeks before Christmas, I was at home with all of my younger siblings (while Mom and Dad were at work) and it was our job to decorate the Christmas tree. As the saying goes, “while the cat is away the mice will play”.  Oh joy! Anyways, I was having a bit of a stressful day already, and then (gasp) I dropped a glass ornament on the concrete floor. So first, I went in the kitchen to get a piece of chocolate. Chocolate always helps 😉 . Then, I prayed that the 2 year old would not step in the glass while I was getting the broom. Thankfully, she didn’t. Praise the Lord!

BONUS: 4 of my favorite websites for faith and family.

LifeSiteNews

I have been reading the LifeSiteNews daily update for almost as long as I’ve had an email account. No joke. They have great articles on topics such as faith, family life, abortion, and homosexuality. They show what the Catholic Church’s position is on such topics while exposing stories that are not typically found in mainstream media.

National Catholic Register

The National Catholic Register is a faith focused website that has articles concerning matters of faith, recent canonisations and beatifications, and news concerning the Holy Father, the Pope. I particularly enjoy the witty commentaries by Simcha Fisher or Jennifer Fulwiler.

LifeNews

This site is quite similar to LifeSiteNews, but it has a few more political articles that deal with the US government. It has controversial stories about abortion and the many evils that accompany it. The articles are well written and very clear.

Catholic Answers Forum

This is a website that I discovered about three weeks ago, but it has already become my favorite website out of all of these. Basically, you sign up and you can ask questions to the other members, or if your question is a question of faith, you can ask an apologist! Plus, you can choose from hundreds of groups to join, from purity groups to rock music groups to Scapular groups. I consider this site Facebook for Catholics 😉  If you want to find me on there, I’m listed as CruceSignati.

Well, I think I have put in my two cents for the day. God bless you all, and have a Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

